The Empress Theophano Foundation


The Prize is awarded annually by the Governing Council of the Empress Theophano Foundation, set up for this purpose in Thessaloniki, the second most important city of the Byzantine Empire.

It does so upon the recommendation of an Advisory Council, which acts as the jury and comprises people with different backgrounds from the various historic-cultural parts of Europe.

The Governing Council

Stavros Andreadis
Chairman of ‘’Sani’’ group.
Chairman of the Cultural Society of Entrepreneurs of Northern Greece.

Nikolaos Efthymiadis
Chairman of ‘’Raedestos’’ group.
Former president of the ‘’Federation of Greek industries’’.

Constantinos Gleoudis
Chairman of ‘’Kavex’’.
Board member of the ‘’Hellenic Society for the Environment and Cultural heritage’’.

Theodoros Ikonomou
Chairman of the ‘’Greek Forest Property Association’’.
Head of a forest management and wood production firm.

Evangelos Gerovasileiou
Chairman Gerovasileiou wines.

George Mylonas
Chairman ‘’Alumil’’ group.

Nada Korac-Kakabadse
Professor at Henley Business School, University of Reading, Great Britain
Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Sonja Puntscher-Riekman
Professor at Center for European Studies, University of Salzburg, Austria

Stefan Schepers
Chairman of EPPA, Belgium

The Advisory Council


Herman Count Van Rompuy
President Emeritus European Council
f. Minister of State of Belgium


Mary McAleese
Former President of Ireland / Professor of Children, Religion and Law, University Glasgow (IRL)

Gerry Brown
Chairman Novaquest Capital, member of the University Council of Exeter (GB)

Nikiforos Diamandouros 
Former European Ombudsman (GR)

Elisabeth Guigou
President of the Anna Lindh Foundation, former Secretary of State (F)

Agnieszka Holland 
Author and film director (PL)

Maria Luisa Poncela
Former Secretary of State (E)

Georges Prevelakis 
Professor Emeritus, University Pantheon-Sorbonne (France)

Sir Ivan Rogers 
Former UK Ambassador to the EU (GB)

Chiara Saraceno
Honorary fellow Collegio Alberto, University of Turin (I)

Vassilios Skouris 
Former president European Court of Justice of the EU (GR)

Karl Prince zu Schwarzenberg
Former Minister Foreign Affairs (CZ)

Dr. Rita Süssmuth
Former President of the German Parliament (D)

Panos Tzonos
Professor at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)

Luuk Van Middelaar 
Professor EU Foundations and Institutions, University of Leiden (NL)

Foundation supporters

The establishment and operation of the Empress Theophano Foundation is supported by:

The Cultural Society of Entrepreneurs of Northern Greece
King Baudouin Foundation, Fund Joseph Schepers-Germaine Lijnen
EPPA Group


Logo, Jan Witek (Warsaw, Poland)

Web design, DSIGÑ (Madrid, Spain)